Quality Standards

National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics (NAFC) Membership Quality Standards Program

The mission of the National Association of Free and Charitable Clinics is to ensure the medically underserved have access to affordable health care. The NAFC and its members are dedicated to ensuring that patients receive quality health care.

To quantify and qualify the care provided at the Free and Charitable Clinic network, the NAFC formalized a set of Quality Standards for member organizations.  This program has been in the development stages for the past several years and officially launched in 2020.

NAFC Members that wished to participate in the program voluntarily submitted information to the NAFC on the various policies and procedures they have in place to attain their standards rating. Each organization attested/pledged that they successfully incorporate these standards within their organization. 581 NAFC members have earned ratings in this inaugural year of launching the Standards Program. Of that, 68% received a gold rating, 17% received a silver rating, and 15% received a bronze rating.

NAFC Quality Standards elements include policies and procedures related to the following areas:

  • Administrative
  • Enhanced Access and Continuity of Care
  • Identifying and Managing Patient Population information
  • Planning and Managing Care
  • Providing Self-Care Support and Community Resources
  • Tracking and Coordinating Care
  • Measuring and Improving Performance